Are you a young voter?
Visit our Young Voters website for a guide to help you during this election!
Responsibilities of the Election Department
The election department is responsible for voter registration, compilation of ballots, absentee ballots, and early voting ballots for the regular primary, general and special county elections, training of election judges, conduct of election day procedures, tabulation of election day results, and certification of the election with the County Canvass Board.
Primary Election, Tuesday, June 28, 2022
Hours & Locations
Important Election Information
To be eligible to register to vote you must
- Be a United States citizen
- Be 16 years of age, but must be 18 years of age or older on the date of the election
- Reside in Colorado for at least 22 days before the election in which you intend to vote
- Not be serving a sentence of confinement, detention, or parole for a felony conviction
- Online Voter Registration– You can register online to vote or make any changes to your voter registration if you have a Colorado State driver’s license or an ID card issued by the Department of Revenue
- You also have the option if you are a first-time voter, inactive voter, or have had a change of address, affiliation, etc. to complete this form ENGLISH or SPANISH and either mail to Phillips County Clerk, 221 S Interocean Ave, Holyoke, CO 80734, email a signed PDF attachment to firstname.lastname@example.org or to email@example.com, or drop it off at the Clerk’s office in the Phillips County Courthouse (same address).
- If you are a college student, you can vote by mail-in ballot
1. How do I get my ballot?
- Every voter now receives a mail ballot. If you want to vote at the polls, you can surrender your mail ballot and vote in-person at a voter service and polling center. To do so, go to www.GoVoteColorado.com to find your polling locations.
- You can also go to www.GoVoteColorado.com to check your status. Log into your voter record, which will show whether your mail ballot has been sent. If you have more questions about the status of your mail ballot, please contact Beth Zilla, Phillips County Clerk, at 970-854-3131.
2. If I don’t vote on a candidate or question, will my other votes still be counted?
Yes. You are not required to cast a vote in every race or on every question. If you choose to leave a race or a question blank, the rest of the votes on your ballot will stillbe counted.
3. Will my mail ballot be counted? I heard that mail ballots might not be counted.
- Every valid mail ballot is counted. Be sure to sign the envelope when you return your mail ballot.
- If you recently registered for the first time, you will need to provide a copy of your ID along with your mail ballot. The County Clerk will have provided instructions about the ID requirement along with your ballot.
- Also, be sure that the Clerk's office receives your ballot no later than 7:00 PM on Election Day. If you are not sure if your ballot will arrive in time, drop it off in person. Contact the Clerk's office at 970-854-3131 for drop-off locations.
4. What are the rules about campaigning in or near polling places?
State law prohibits electioneering within 100 feet of the entrance to a polling place. This means that anyone who is advocating for the election or defeat of a candidate or a ballot issue must be at least 100 feet away from the entrance to the polling place.
5. What kinds of ID can I use to vote?
See the list of acceptable forms of ID.
6. If I didn’t vote in the last election, am I still registered to vote?
Yes. If you did not vote in the last election, you are still registered and eligible to vote. The County Clerk will mail you a ballot unless the post office provides information that you have moved. Go to www.GoVoteColorado.com to make sure your registration information is up-to-date.